Nom Nom… Turkey Meatballs

Today was a low-key, relaxing Sunday. I watched television, did laundry, had coffee with my grandmother. Just as I predicted in my last post, I was in no mood to do a whole big fancy meal prep. Shocker.

I did, however, feel like cooking dinner. I baked up a huge batch of turkey meatballs.

I don’t like to brag, but my meatballs are always pretty on point.

IMG_8449

Want to make meatballs that look like mine? Read on, my friend.

I have to be honest- I don’t measure anything when I make these. You’re probably thinking great,  how are you ever going to teach me? They say  a picture is worth a thousand words. So, I took a ton of them to share with you. Together, we’ll go through the process of how I make meatballs, step by step.

How to make Meatballs by Yours Truly 🙂

  1. The first thing I do is preheat my oven to 375 degrees. I line two big baking sheets (I think mine are 10 x 14?) with tin foil. This means they will be less of a pain to clean up later on. Don’t forget to spray the foil with non-stick cooking spray, or else your meatballs will get stuck to it.

2. I then proceed to combine a bunch of dry ingredients in a large mixing  bowl. The ingredient I used the most of is paprika. I would definitely say that this particular ingredient is the foundation of this dish. Use this picture a a guide-you’ll want to use about four times as much as I have pictured here.

IMG_8416

The second most important ingredient is garlic powder. Look at what’s in my hand and times it by about three, four if you really like garlic (or maybe have some vampires you’re looking to kill). Throw it in the bowl with the paprika.

IMG_8426.JPG

Next, it’s time for the accent ingredients.  They are as follows:

garlic n’ herb
rosemary
thyme
oregano
cilantro

For each ingredient, you should use between 5-7 handfuls that look like this:

IMG_8417

(pictured here is garlic n’ herb).

Use a dash of salt, and a dash of black pepper. In my humble opinion, you can’t make anything without either of them. Well, you shouldn’t.

After you’ve added all of the ingredients listed above, mix them together, like so.

IMG_8428

Top the mixture with grated parmesean cheese. I use the kind that comes in a shaker. It takes forever to expire, which is great since I barely cook.

IMG_8430
Top the cheese with some panko bread crumbs.

IMG_8433

Add two jumbo sized eggs.

IMG_8434.JPG

Mix the dry ingredients and the eggs together.

IMG_8438.JPG

Looks pretty gnarly right? It’s temporary, I promise.

When you are finished doing this, you can go ahead and add 3 lbs of ground meat. I like to use turkey meat, because there’s less fat in it.

Massage the egg/seasoning mixture into the meat, like so:

IMG_8441.JPG

This part takes me about ten minutes, because the meat is so cold! I feel like I have to take breaks constantly. Because I’m a baby. Regardless of how much I dislike doing it, I know how important it is to make sure that all of the ingredients are  evenly distributed throughout the ground meat.

IMG_8445.JPG

Finally, it’s time to roll out them balls! Make them as big or small as you like. They don’t have to be perfectly round-as you can see, mine are far from it!

IMG_8448.JPG

Now it’s time to throw them in the oven. After about ten minutes, open the oven and use a spatula to take a peak at the bottom of the meatballs. You want to flip them over when they begin to develop a nice brown crust on the bottom. ( I had one tray on the middle shelf of my oven, and another on the bottom shelf . The bottom ones cooked a lot faster- I flipped them over after ten minutes. I flipped the middle ones after about fifteen minutes).

Your meatballs should take about twenty-five minutes to bake. When they seem like they are done, you’ll want to cut one or two of them open, to make sure that they are not still red and raw in the middle.  This is especially important if you’re using poultry. You don’t want to get sick!

You can serve your meatballs alone, with pasta and red sauce, or with some sautéed vegetables.  We had ours with sautéed spinach, and some BBQ sauce for dipping.

IMG_8450.JPG

If you enjoyed this post, please subscribe to my blog!  If you decide to make this recipe yourself, I would love to see pictures!

Leave a Reply

