Three Favorite Lip Colors for Fall & Winter

So a little disclaimer here-I’m not a makeup artist or a makeup guru or an aspiring makeup anything. I’m just a girl, who likes to paint her face, who doesn’t wing her eyeliner on top because she doesn’t know how to. This blog post is totally all in fun.

I just really like make-up. So do my girlfriends. In fact, we do this really fun thing where we drink wine or coffee (depending on the time of day and/or what kind of day we’ve had ) and go through each other’s cosmetic bags going “ooooh, I didn’t know you had that! OMG, I need that new Urban Decay eyeshadow palette in my life!” But really. I was doing this over sushi and moscato with one of my girlies the other day. I have (most of) my make-up collection organized into little bags depending on whether it’s for my eyes, my lips, or my face. She picked up my overstuffed ziplock bag of lipsticks and goes “wow…look at all  these!  You have so many…I’m not surprised, though. Lipstick is your thing!”

You know what? It is my thing. There’s something about rocking a strong lip … I find that it really helps a girl (or a boy. I’m all for gender equality, especially if that means defending a person’s right to wear lipstick and feel fabulous 😉  to feel pulled together when they’ve overslept and don’t have more than  two minutes to get ready…A bold lip and a little mascara, and you’re good to go!

I wanted to do a post on lipsticks that are especially fun to rock in the fall and winter. Let me set the record straight and say that I will wear absolutely ANY lip color no matter what time of year it is. In fact, just today I wore Mac’s “Candy Yum Yum”, which I know a lot of people would say is a  color for the spring and summer.

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

Kinda springy/summery, yes. But I like it too much to only wear it in the spring and summer. So sue me.

I’m calling this post “Three Favorite Lip Colors for FALL and WINTER” because I’m featuring colors that are TYPICALLY worn by a LOT of people in the fall/winter. I’m not insinuating that you have to wear colors like these in the fall/winter, or that you can’t wear these colors if it’s the summertime. If that’s what tickles your fancy, go for it. It’s a free country. Wear whatever you want, whenever you want to wear it. Got it? Get it? Good.

Anyhoo, on with the reason you clicked on this post. My favorites are as follows:

NYX soft matte lip cream in “Transylvania”

IMG_8381.JPG

IMG_8393.PNG

 

Hehe. The name of this lipstick makes me lol.

As you can see, this is an extremely bold, vampy color. It’s a gorgeous purple, hint of red, almost black color. You can’t be shy if you’re going to rock this one. My man thinks it’s too dark on me but I wear it anyway. To say I’m obsessed would be an understatement

Mac lipstick in “Rebel”

IMG_8477.PNG

IMG_8410.PNG

Ahh this is one of my all time favorites. On most, it’s  a dark winey purple color. On me, it’s sorta pinky.  I love it! This formula lasts pretty well throughout the day, through all of my coffee drinking and snacking. Sometimes it even stains my lips a little into the next day-nothing horrible enough to prevent it from being one of my most worn lip colors.

Clinique Long Last Soft Matte Lipstick in “Crimson”

IMG_8409.PNG

FullSizeRender-4.jpg

My best friend ,who is not a big lip color girl received this lipstick as part of a free gift and gave it to me.  I’m sure glad she did-I swear, I spend so much money on make-up, I feel like I’ve won the freaking Powerball when that type of thing happens! But yeah,  I really believe that you can never go wrong with a red lip. It’s timeless, super dramatic, very Marilyn Monroe… I usually pair it with a neutral eyeshadow color, preferably one with some shimmer. It’s perfect for Christmas-sorry, I’m a little late, I know. It’s also ideal for Valentine’s Day, which is coming up! If your valentine is anything like mine, he/she  will probably get mad at you for wearing this color,as it will definitely come off on him/her  when you guys kiss. Oh well…

So there you have it, my three favorite lip colors for fall and winter:

IMG_8412.PNG

(from left to right- Transylvania, Crimson, and Rebel).

While I still have your attention, there is just ONE more color that I would like to share with you…I know I said that there were only  three, but take a look at how amazing this one looks:

FullSizeRender.jpg

Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in  “Vampira”

Whoa! Those sexy lips aren’t mine! They belong to my girly, Cristina,  who is rocking this dark smoky blood-red that I’ve been trying to avoid shelling out the twenty bucks for. I  instead bought Wet n Wild’s “Smoked Cherry”, which comes up on the interweb as a great dupe for Vampira. Smoked Cherry is pretty, but I feel it’s a bit too pinky to be a knock-off of this color. I need the real thing in my make-up bag. ASAP.

There you have it, my loves. Hope you enjoyed reading about some of my favorite lippies. What are some of your favorites? Please do share in the comments below. I would love to hear all about them.

If you enjoyed this post, please follow this blog 🙂 Thank you kindly!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

