Breaded and Baked Chicken Cutlets

Hey all 🙂

This past Wednesday night, I decided I felt like cooking something for dinner. My goal was to make enough food so that I wouldn’t have to buy lunch on Thursday. I aim to do that practically every time I cook. I’m not someone who enjoys buying her lunch on a regular basis. I always prefer to bring something I’ve made. For times when I’m too busy to do that (this happens constantly), I’ll  bring a frozen meal to heat up in the microwave.

I’d opted for a frozen meal option for lunch that day, one of the “Fit Kitchen” meals from Stouffer’s. They’re supposed to be on the healthier side, touting over 20 grams of protein or something like that…the one I ate contained rotisserie style chicken, string beans, red potatoes, and sweet potatoes. I’ve been wanting to try these out for a long time now. I eat a lot of frozen food, which I know isn’t good for me. Still, I try to pick things that aren’t too terrible…the lesser evils, is what I call it. Unfortunately, I wasn’t quite prepared for the 900 mg of sodium…I was so freaking thirsty all day long. It seriously dehydrated the crap out of me. Not worth it, in my humble opinion.

But yeah.. after that thirst inducing experience, I was pretty eager to come home and  make something fresh. I opted to make breaded and baked chicken cutlets.

IMG_9236.JPG

If you think that looks and sounds like something you’d crave to eat, please keep reading.

Breaded and Baked Chicken Cutlets

If you’ve got an appetite like mine, this recipe will serve two. If you tend to eat smaller portions (jealous), you may be able to get 3 servings from it.

You will need:

1.5-1.75 lbs of chicken breast

a baking sheet

parchment paper

3 eggs

1 cup of flour

1 1/2 cups of panko crumbs

salt, oregano, & garlic powder to taste

optional-grated parmesan cheese

optional-grated pecorino romano cheese

This recipe requires a little bit of prepwork…nothing too horrible. You’ll want to preheat your oven to 375 degrees. You will then want to go ahead and cover your baking sheet with parchment paper.

Next, you’ll need to set up your breading station. Get three appropriately-sized bowls. In one bowl, crack your three eggs and whisk them until they have been thoroughly beaten.

IMG_9226.JPG

After whisking your eggs, you’ll need to measure out your flour. When I made this, I grossly overestimated how much I should use. I used two cups  and had so much left over. I was so mad at myself for wasting ingredients. Not cool. You should be just fine with a cup, as each chicken cutlet only requires a light dusting.

IMG_9225.JPG

Pour yourself a cup and a half of panko crumbs. I mixed mine with three to four shakes of salt, oregano, garlic powder, and parmesan cheese (I used the one that comes in a shaker). You don’t have to use the cheese if you don’t wan to. After adding your seasonings, be sure to stir them in to the panko with a spoon or a fork.

IMG_9227.JPG

Once you’ve thoroughly rinsed your chicken and patted it dry with a paper towel, you are ready to begin the breading process 😀 It’s super easy…you dip each cutlet in the egg, then lightly coat it with some flour. Now, go ahead and press it in to the bowl of seasoned panko crumbs, taking care to generously coat each side. Finally, throw your cutlet (maybe place it, so you don’t make a mess) on top of the parchment paper.

Once you’ve done this to all of your chicken breasts, put them in the oven. Bake for twenty minutes, then flip them over with a spatula so that both sides are able to cook. Bake for another twenty minutes.

If you want, you can sprinkle some grated pecorino romano cheese on top of your cutlets. This should be done two to three minutes before they’re due to come out of the oven.

And…

Ta da!

IMG_9242.JPG

My breaded and baked chicken cutlets, pictured here with cut up red peppers and rosemary potatoes. I suggest choosing some kind of condiment to enjoy on this chicken. I personally use honey mustard salad dressing. I buy the light one, which still has a lot of calories, but I like to pretend I don’t know that. I  poured it all over my food half way through the meal. Just a personal preference. 🙂

So yummy!

If you enjoyed this blog, and would like to see others like it please follow me. Comments and likes are also highly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

