Andouille & Chorizo Sausage Nachos

Hey all!

During all of last week, I could barely contain my excitement for the Super Bowl.

Not because I care or even remotely understand anything about football.

Because of the food!!! Duh!!!

I also enjoy some of the stupid funny Budweiser commercials.

But mainly the food. Steve had a few friends over, and so we had to make sure we had some classic Super Bowl goodies. We served pizza and wings. Nom nom nom.

I feel kind of guilty admitting it, but I’m all about takeout for when we have company over. It’s so much easier than preparing this giant, homemade meal. I really try to clean up our place when I know we’re having guests. The last thing I want to do is shit up the kitchen. You feel me?

If you’re someone who cooks gourmet meals for when your friends come a-knocking, all I have to say is mucho respect, God Bless, and when can I come over?

Oh yeah, I can also say “Better you than me.” No no NO cooking for this girl.

Okay, I mean, I did make one simple thing. I’ve had a couple of pieces of andouille and chorizo sausage sitting in my freezer, ever since I used it to make quesadillas about two weeks ago. I can’t tell you how much I had-I honestly don’t remember. It was one big, long piece of chorizo and two normal sausage link-sized pieces of the andouille. I thought about taking it’s picture, but sometimes sausage links bear a comical resemblance to pieces of poop in photographs. I couldn’t do it with a straight face. I’m just saying.

If this recipe interests you, please keep reading before I make you lose your appetite any further. Sorry.

How I made Delicious  Andouille & Chorizo Sausage Nachos:

I chose to make my life easier by making my sausages ahead of time. As soon as I woke up on Sunday morning, I preheated my oven to three hundred seventy five degrees. I baked the sausages on a parchment-paper lined tray for twenty minutes. I then  flipped them over, and baked them for an additional twenty minutes. I took them out of the oven, let them cool a bit,and chopped them up into little pieces. Once they had completely cooled to room temperature, I put them in a container and threw them in the fridge.

Hours later, it was time to make my nachos. You could use any tortilla chip. I opted for Tostito’s lime flavored chips and the scoops. The lime flavor is just so different and fun. The scoops hold the meat and cheese really well. Those two are simply my favorites.

I set my oven to 350 degrees. In order to save myself a lot of aggravation, I lined my glass dish with parchment paper (ALWAYS! If you haven’t noticed, parchment paper is my kitchen holy grail item). I then proceeded to build a chip-tower. I lined the bottom of the dish with lime Tostitos. I gave them one or two liberal handfuls of cheese and some sausage. I covered them with more lime tostitos and did the same thing all over again. You can build as many layers as you like ( or as many as your glass tray will fit). For my top layer, I used the scoops. I placed little pieces of sausage right inside of the scoops, because what else would you do? Don’t forget to cover with extra cheese on top!

Here’s where I messed up– I baked my nachos for only five minutes. When I took them out of the oven, they looked phenomenal..but the cheese on the bottom two layers was not completely melted. I’m pretty sure that this could have been prevented by baking them longer. I got lazy and just stuck them in the microwave for thirty seconds. In the future, I will try baking for 8 or 9 minutes. No real harm done, as my nachos still came out great 🙂

Look how yummy….

IMG_9281.JPG

These really were a lot of fun. I received several compliments. About thirty percent of them might have been from myself. When I eat something amazing, I tend to not be able to stop talking about it. I’m sure I come across as ridiculously pompous, talking about my food. To clarify, I don’t go around saying, “Wow, what a great job I did!”  In fact, it’s not about me at all. When I eat something I like made by ANYBODY, I just can’t seem to resist going, “Wow, this is great!” “This is so good!” “Ugh, I want to  have this again soon!” Comments of that nature on repeat throughout the entire meal. Maybe a little obnoxious, but I can’t help it.  I genuinely am that passionate about amazing food.

So what awesome snacks did you get to enjoy yesterday? Please do share your snack recipes with me.

If you enjoyed this blog, kindly follow me. Comments and likes would also  be pretty fantastic 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

