Night People

Hi all 🙂

It’s Saturday night…actually it’s early Sunday morning. I would like to go to sleep soon, but I just can’t bring myself to go lay down quite yet. The insomniac in me would much rather lay on the couch and write until my eyelids become too heavy to physically stay open.

I’ve been a night person forever. My parents stopped implementing a weekend/summer/holiday bedtime for me when I was about ten or eleven years old. I absolutely loved staying up late. I would routinely consume tons of trashy reality shows on Vh1, along with a side of calorie laden treats like Chips Ahoy! cookies and homemade nachos. Sometimes, I would write in my journal. I wrote about my crushes, mostly. I pretty much always liked a boy in my class, guys who were part of the “in” crowd, guys who wouldn’t have even farted my way back then. I also read books, usually one of my mother’s suspense novels by Mary Higgins Clark. Or sometimes, I read Judy Blume, who in my humble opinion is a literary queen. Good stuff.

What I liked best about the late night time was being the only person in the house that had  stayed awake. My parents went to sleep around ten-ish, and so the house was always super quiet. I loved that. I’ve heard morning people talk about how they love getting up early and enjoying a cup of coffee in solitude. To this very day, I experience that same feeling of peace and happiness from having stayed up late by myself.

My leisurely late night activities haven’t changed much, honestly. I’ll watch reruns of The Real Housewives of New Jersey and Teen Mom. I’ll nosh on snacks I know I’ll regret in the morning, like Lime Tostitos. I’ll work on this blog, and refer to my  awesome boyfriend, as I no longer have “class crushes”. I’ll admit, I don’t read much. I unfortunately  don’t have time to do it on a consistent basis. I will say that I did recently enjoy  a memoir by Teresa Giudice (from The Real Housewives of New Jersey, duh)) and her experience as an inmate in Danbury Prison. It was a pretty juicy read , if you’re a reality TV nut like I am. Just a suggestion 🙂

Staying up late  isn’t something I always do, or something I always take pleasure in. With my busy schedule, there are plenty of Friday and Saturday nights  when I’m thrilled to pass out in bed at 9:30 pm. I feel exhausted. There are also plenty of nights when I stay up late, not because I want to, but because I have to get my homework done. While it’s not the worst thing in the world, it’s far from enjoyable.

Still, it’s nice when I can enjoy a long night staying up. It’s crazy to think about how similar I am to my pre-teen/teenager self, in terms of my favorite pastimes. I’ve changed so much in other ways, yet I still find comfort and joy in the same things.

Muy Interesante, right?

My  eyelids are feeling like bricks right now. I guess I’m writing myself to sleep. Hopefully, you’re still awake after reading. If you’re tired too, I’ll forgive you.

If you enjoyed this blog post, please follow me. Comments and likes would be great too.

Good night 🙂

Leave a Reply

